The second British five second run took place at the York

Thursday 9th September 1982

The second British five second run took place at the York. PDRC Open Challenge Meeting. The feature attraction of this meeting was to have been a best of three between the methanol car of Jim Read and the TF car of Tony Boden. In the first match-up, Jim took the win with a 7.94/172 to a fast closing charge of 192 from Tony. No time was recorded for him. Unfortunately, that was the only side by side run of the afternoon as the nitro car succumbed to clutch problems and Jim’s car broke its motor on a burn-out later in the afternoon. In Top Modified, Richard Wloszek qualified top of the pile, followed by Sylvia Hauser, Mick Cheley and Clive Mechaell. In the first round, Mechaell red-lit allowing Sylvia Hauser an easy 10.44/131 win. Wloszek then defeated Cheley despite bogging on the line. In the final, Sylvia Hauser just managed to take the win with a 10.59/128 to a losing time for Wloszek of 12.98/103. Pro Fuel bike was a best of three between Pip Higham and Paul Taylor. Higham won all three races with a best time of 8.84/164 which equalled the strip speed record. Super bike was also a best of three between Pete Marrison and Terry Sidebottom. Sidebottom won all three. Top bike was a round robin which Jim Clayton won. Tony Huck won the Senior bike beating Glenn Parker in the final. Top car was a best of three between John Mills’ Roadrunner and the small block Ford dragster of Bob Holt. Mills took two of the three races. Senior car went to Tony Taylor while Middle car was won by Andy Williams. Steve Murty made regular appearances throughout the afternoon in the wheelie Vauxhall.

Leave a Reply

365 Days Of Motoring

Recent Posts



I We have no wish to abuse copyright regulations and we apologise unreservedly if this occurs. If you own any of the material published please get in touch.