Indianapolis 500 was won by Tommy Milton

Monday 30th May 1921

Indianapolis 500 was won by Tommy Milton. Ralph DePalma led 109 laps but his connecting rod broke and he rolled to a halt. DePalma never led another Indianapolis 500, retiring after the 1922 race. His final career total was 612 laps led for 1 win. DePalma’s record number of circuits in front was finally topped by Al Unser 67 years later.

Leave a Reply

365 Days Of Motoring

Recent Posts



I We have no wish to abuse copyright regulations and we apologise unreservedly if this occurs. If you own any of the material published please get in touch.