Category: Born on this day

  • Esteban Tuero

    Esteban Tuero

    Saturday 22nd April 1978 Born on this day, Esteban Tuero, Argentine CART driver who raced for the Minardi Formula One team in 1998. At 19, he became the third-youngest Formula One driver in history when he landed his seat alongside Shinji Nakano, but left the sport at the end of the season following a neck […]

  • Marc Hynes

    Sunday 26th February 1978 Born on this day, Marc Hynes, British racing driver, who won the 1999 British Formula Three Championship and raced for the WRT team in Formula 3000. He has also tested for the Formula One team British American Racing.

  • Brice Tirabassi

    Wednesday 15th June 1977 Born on this day, Brice Tirabassi, French rally driver who won the Junior World Rally Championship in 2003.

  • Vitor Meira

    Sunday 27th March 1977 Born on this day, Vitor Meira, racing driver, who twice finished second (2005, 2008) in the Indianapolis 500.

  • Nick Heidfeld

    Nick Heidfeld

    Thursday 10th March 1977 Born on this day, Nick Heidfeld, German racing driver. Despite scoring regular podium finishes in 2005 with Williams, and in 2007 and 2008 with BMW Sauber, Heidfeld never won a race after debuting in Formula One in 2000. Heidfeld currently holds three other records; he is the driver who has scored […]

  • Takuma Sato

    Takuma Sato

    Friday 28th January 1977 Born on this day, Takuma Sato, a Janese driver who shone in British Formula Three, winning the championship in 2001. But his debut F1 season for Jordan in 2002, as Eddie Jordan tried in vain to court Honda into staying with them, was notable for a string of accidents until he […]

  • Kumar Ram Narain Karthikeya

    Kumar Ram Narain Karthikeya

    Friday 14th January 1977 Born on this day, Kumar Ram Narain Karthikeyan, who in 2005 became the first Indian Formula 1 driver. Driving for the Jordan team his best result was a 4th place at the US-Grand Prix, the race all of the Michelin equipped teams boycotted. When Jordan was sold, Narain lost his drive […]

  • Andre Couto

    Tuesday 14th December 1976 Born on this day, Andre Couto, Macanese motor racing driver, best known for winning his home F3 Grand Prix in 2000.

  • Mark Webber

    Mark Webber

    Friday 27th August 1976 Born on this day, Mark Webber, Australian Formula One driver with 9 wins from 215 starts. In Webber announced he would be retiring from Formula One racing at the conclusion of the 2013 season and subsequently join Porsche on a long-term deal racing LMP1 Sportscars in the FIA World Endurance Championship.

  • Kevin Harvick

    Kevin Harvick

    Monday 8th December 1975 Born on this day, Kevin Harvick, an American NASCAR driver, the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion. Harvick is the former owner of Kevin Harvick Incorporated, a race team that ran in the Xfinity Series and the Camping World Truck Series between 2004 and 2011.